In the beginning, thread one

I was at my sister Maggie’s.  We had just received the proof copy of Mom’s history of the family.  Months of struggling had finally resulted in an actual book.  It was no longer just words on a computer screen, it was something you could hold in your hand.

She had had time to look at the book earlier in the day as it had been shipped to her house.  Now it was my time to look at the results of our hard work.

I browsed through the book.  Periodically, I would look at Maggie and make a comment.  Then I would resume browsing.  Sometimes I just stared at the book.

After watching me for a while, Maggie said, “I understand what is going on.  It’s your first book”.

But it was not to be my last.

Leave a Reply

